Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders. The state eligibility requirements can be found in GC §411.172. The federal firearms disqualifiers can be found in 18 USC 44 §922.
You must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit required supplemental forms and materials.
Applicants for an original (first-time) LTC should submit an online application, and schedule an appointment for fingerprinting. Applicants must also complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting).
For detailed information regarding training requirements and to locate a certified LTC instructor, see Training Requirements.
DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing.
The letter requesting more information or documents extends the timeline for issuing your license. DPS has an additional 180 days to complete the review process, if additional information is required from the application. To ensure your license is issued promptly, it is very important for you to provide the requested information for review. If the requested information is not received timely, the application will be terminated.
Renewal applications may be submitted online at: License To Carry A Handgun.
We will use existing fingerprints and photos on file for renewal applications. However, sometimes the quality of those prints originally submitted no longer meets the State or FBI standards. If we are unable to use the fingerprints on file, you will be notified to obtain a new set of prints along with instructions on where you must be fingerprinted.
The standard fee for an original LTC is $40. The standard fee for a renewal of a LTC is $40. However, Texas law provides for some discounts if you meet certain special conditions. A complete list of fees along with the special conditions can be found on the fee table.
NOTE: Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable. If an application is not approved, the fees will not be refunded.
A contribution may be made, in the dollar amount of your choice, on an original or renewal application for a License to Carry a Handgun (LTC). A portion of the total application fee will reflect the amount you specify. Contributing to the fund is voluntary. For more information about the program please visit: Veterans' Assistance Fund.
When applying under a special condition, you must submit supporting documents to qualify for the discount. To determine if you meet the criteria for a discount, refer to the fee table. Police officers, prosecutors and judges may obtain additional information regarding the application process on our website at Law Enforcement/Judicial Personnel.
Yes. There is a fee charged for fingerprint services. For additional information regarding the Fingerprint Application Services of Texas (FAST) please visit our website.
To schedule an appointment at a time and location convenient to you, please use one of the following methods:
Visit Fingerprinting Services, please use Service Code: 119Q91 OR
Call (888) 467-2080 and provide Service Code: 119Q91
If it is determined the fingerprints submitted with the application do not meet the required quality standards, new fingerprints must be provided. You will be notified in writing if your initial sets of fingerprints are rejected.
No. Per Texas Government Code §411.173, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form LTC-6, two passport style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
Yes. Subject to the requirements of federal firearms law, and if not otherwise ineligible, resident aliens and certain nonimmigrant aliens who are lawfully present in the United States may obtain the license.
You may submit a request to change the address on your LTC online at License To Carry A Handgun
Students attending school out-of-state may leave their permanent address on their LTC. The address change will be required once the student has established a different permanent address.
NOTE: Changing the address on your Texas Driver License or ID Card will not automatically change the address on your LTC. You must submit a separate request at License To Carry A Handgun.
You may submit a request to replace a lost or stolen license online at: License To Carry A Handgun
NOTE: When DPS replaces a lost/stolen license, the license number will be changed for security reasons.
Yes. Your LTC License card will remain valid until it expires. Upon renewal, it will be printed on the newly redesigned card. All licenses printed after February 24, 2020 will be printed on the newly redesigned card.
No. Should you wish to receive the newly redesigned license, a replacement license may be obtained by submitting duplicate/change of address form. This form can be found under downloadable forms at: LTC-70. Applicable replacement fees will apply, when required. The title caption at the top of the newly redesigned card will read "License to Carry Handgun."
DWI is classified as at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. For the purpose of determining eligibility, a conviction includes those that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication.
Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H states that deferred adjudication will be considered the same as a conviction. Depending on the type of offense and the date of the order of deferred adjudication, you may not be eligible for a LTC. See GC §411.171 and §411.1711
Yes. Applicants are required to report all arrests in order to ensure the background checks can be conducted timely. The application should include the year, the offense, the location and the final disposition. Copies of the dispositions will assist in the timely processing of your application. Applicants should also include information on cases that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication. Failure to provide any requested documentation could result in the termination of an application as incomplete.
An applicant may attend LTC classroom training and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor, or
An applicant may receive LTC online training (classroom only) through an Approved Online Course Provider who has been approved in Texas. After, successfully passing the online classroom portion, an applicant must attend 1-2 hours of range instruction class and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor.
The classroom instruction must cover the four (4) statutory required topics and may be a four to six hour course:
Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force,
Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns,
Non-violent dispute resolution,
Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
Training material related to the safe storage of handguns may be found on Safe Storage (PDF).
To locate a DPS-certified LTC instructor or approved Online Course Provider, see Instructor List or Online Course provider list.
Yes, if you have successfully completed classroom and handgun proficiency training with a Qualified LTC Instructor, you will be provided a Certificate of Training (LTC 100) form or
If you have successfully completed your online classroom only training with an Approved Online Course provider, you will receive an Online/Handgun Proficiency Training (LTC 101) form; however, you must take the LTC 101 form to a Qualified LTC Instructor to complete your handgun proficiency training.
Once all training has been successfully completed, you may upload the LTC 100 or LTC 101, by visiting RSD Contact Us.
Per HB 48 (83rd Legislature), continuing education is no longer required for LTC renewal. License holders will simply apply online and submit the supporting documents for discounted fees or special conditions.
NOTE: It is the license holder’s responsibility to remain informed and knowledgeable of new laws.
Some instructors may require you to use your own gun during the proficiency (shooting) demonstration. However, others may provide the gun and/or ammunition. You will need to consult with a certified instructor to determine if you will need a handgun for the course.
If there is a reciprocity agreement with Texas, then you may be eligible to carry a handgun in the other state. A reciprocal agreement does not automatically authorize a Texas license holder to carry in another state. It is important to review the agreement for specific details or limitations. Reciprocal agreements and unilateral proclamations can be found on our website at: Reciprocity map.
If you are in a state that has reciprocity with Texas, you must follow that state’s laws for carrying a handgun. The same responsibility applies to anyone from another state when traveling in Texas; they must follow Texas laws for carrying a handgun. Most states will have a website for their carry licenses or permits that specify their laws. Alternatively, you may contact the other state and ask what their laws are for carrying a handgun while in that state.
Reciprocal agreements and unilateral proclamations can be found on our website at: Reciprocity map.
Texas Penal Code Chapter 46 prohibits the carrying the handgun in plain view unless the person is licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Texas Government Code, and the handgun is carried in a shoulder or belt holster.
License holders may still choose to carry a concealed handgun in any location that is not expressly prohibited by law in locations permitted by law.
NOTE: License holders are reminded that carrying of a handgun in certain places is still prohibited under Penal Code Chapter 46. Additionally, handguns may not be carried openly on the campus of an institution of higher education pursuant to Government Code, Section 411.2031, added by SB 11 (84th Legislature), and Penal Code, Section 46.035, as amended by HB 910 (84th Legislature).
No. The law does not specify any particular type of shoulder or belt holster.
Training material related to the use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns may be found on Use of Restraint Holsters (PDF).
A license holder may carry a handgun anywhere in Texas that is not expressly prohibited by law. Those prohibitions appear in several provisions of the Texas Penal Code.
NOTE: It is the license holder’s responsibility to remain informed and knowledgeable of new laws.
For example, §46.035, Texas Penal Code prohibits carrying of handguns and other weapons:
On the premises of a business that derives 51% or more of its income from the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption; such premises are required to post notices under Texas GC §411.204;
On the premises where a high school, collegiate, or professional sporting or interscholastic event is taking place;
On the premises of a correctional facility;
On the premises of a hospital or nursing home if effective notice of prohibition is given per Penal Code Chapter 30 (unless the licensee has written authorization); such premises also are required to post notices under Texas GC §411.204;
In an amusement park (if effective notice of prohibition is given per Penal Code Chapter 30);
At any meeting of a governmental entity (if the meeting is subject to the Texas Open Meetings Act per Government Code Chapter 551, and effective notice of prohibition is given per Penal Code Chapter 30);
On the premises of State Hospitals (in accordance to Health and Safety Code, Chapter 552, and effective notice of prohibition is given per Penal Code Chapter 30).
In addition, §46.03, Texas Penal Code specifically prohibits handguns in the following locations:
On the physical premises of a school, grounds or buildings on which an activity sponsored by a school is being conducted, or in a school transportation vehicle;
On the premises of a polling place on the day of an election or while early voting is in progress;
On the premises of any government court or court offices (unless the licensee has written authorization from the court);
On the premises of a racetrack;
In or into a secured area of an airport; or
Within 1,000 feet of premises designated as a place of execution on the day a sentence of death is set to be imposed.
With respect to possession in motor vehicles or watercraft, Penal Code Section 46.02 provides that a person may possess a handgun in his or her motor vehicle or watercraft so long as the handgun is concealed and the person is not:
Engaged in criminal activity, other than a Class C misdemeanor that is a violation of a law or ordinance regulating traffic or boating;
Prohibited by law from possessing a firearm; or
A member of a criminal street gang, as defined by Penal Code Section 71.01.
The requirement that the weapon be concealed does not apply to a person licensed under the License to Carry a Handgun statute who is carrying the handgun in a shoulder or belt holster.
Be advised that Sections 46.02, 46.03 and 46.035 provide numerous exceptions and defenses to prosecution that may apply and should be carefully reviewed.
No. Texas law does not specifically address any prohibitions against a license holder from carrying a handgun in public park.
License holders should note that some public parks are federal property and are subject to federal laws. To determine if a park is a federal property, see Army Corp of Engineers.
Yes. Private property owners may exclude license holders from carrying concealed handguns on their property by giving the license holder effective notice as provided in Section 30.06, Texas Penal Code.
Also, private property owners may exclude license holders from carrying openly on their property by giving the license holder effective notice as provided by Section 30.07, Texas Penal Code.
For the purpose of these two statutory sections, the owner of the property or someone with apparent authority to act for the owner may provide effective notice.
A sign posted under §30.06, Texas Penal Code, must:
Include the following text in English and in Spanish:
Pursuant to Section 30.06, Penal Code (trespass by license holder with a concealed handgun), a person licensed under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code (handgun licensing law), may not enter this property with a concealed handgun";
Appear in contrasting colors with block letters at least one inch in height; and
Be displayed in a conspicuous manner clearly visible to the public.
A sign posted under §30.07, Texas Penal Code, must:
Include the following text in English and in Spanish:
"Pursuant to Section 30.07, Penal Code (trespass by license holder with an openly carried handgun), a person licensed under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code (handgun licensing law), may not enter this property with a handgun that is carried openly";
Appear in contrasting colors with block letters at least one inch in height; and
Be displayed in a conspicuous manner clearly visible to the public at each entrance to the property.
DPS does not furnish or sell these signs. Private property owners may print the signs or purchase the signs from a commercial printing company. Pursuant to Section 411.017, Government Code, the sign may not reflect the DPS seal or name.
No. Sections 30.06 and 30.07, Texas Penal Code, give private property owners some options in how to convey notice to LTC holders. But if the private property owner chooses to post a notice, it must comply with the 1-inch block-letter, contrasting color, and other requirements specified in Sections 30.06 and 30.07.
It is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $200 for a license holder to carry a concealed handgun onto private property after receiving effective notice under §30.06, Texas Penal Code, or to openly carry a handgun onto private property after receiving effective notice under §30.07, Texas Penal Code. The offense may be enhanced to a Class A misdemeanor if it is shown at trial that, after entering the property, the license holder was personally given the notice by oral communication described by Subsection (b) (of §30.06 or §30.07)and subsequently failed to depart.
No. State agencies and political subdivisions cannot use §30.06, Texas Penal Code, to exclude concealed handguns from their government property. In fact, if a state agency or political subdivision unlawfully posts a sign under §30.06, the state agency or political subdivision can be fined $1,000-$1,500 for the first offense and $10,000-$10,500 for each subsequent offense.
Note, however, that license holders are prohibited from carrying their handguns on the premises listed in §46.03 and §46.035 of the Texas Penal Code, and those places include some properties owned by state agencies and political subdivisions (e.g., courts).
§46.035, Texas Penal Code states that it is unlawful for an individual who is intoxicated to carry a handgun. It is important to note that the Penal Code defines “intoxicated” as not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance in the body; or having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
A person may be subject to criminal sanctions and/or civil liability depending on the circumstances. License holders should be aware of the potential criminal sanction under Texas Penal Code §42.01 related to disorderly conduct. Licensees should also know that municipalities may adopt an ordinance related to discharge of firearms within city limits per Local Government Code Chapter 229.
GC411.2031 permits a License to Carry holder the ability to carry a concealed handgun on campuses of private, public, and independent institutions of higher education as long as the institution has not given effective notice that the carrying of a concealed handgun on certain portions of campus is strictly prohibited. Effective notice must conform to the standards under Section 30.06, Penal Code. The open carry of a handgun on a college campus is still strictly prohibited.
Generally, yes. The Texas Business and Commerce Code requires that most businesses accept a License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) as a valid form of personal identification for access to goods, services or facilities. However, vehicle rental services still require a driver license.
Information on individuals who are licensed to carry a concealed handgun is confidential and not subject to requests under the Public Information Act. However, DPS may release information about a concealed handgun licensee to criminal justice agencies for law enforcement purposes.
Yes. If the license holder has not surrendered the license or the license was not seized as evidence, the license holder shall surrender the license to the department not later than the 10th day after the date the license holder receives the notice of suspension or revocation from the department, unless the license holder requests a hearing from the department. See GC §411.186 and §411.187.
It depends on the type of charge and whether you are subsequently convicted or placed on probation. If you are acquitted of the pending charge, your license will be reinstated if it did not expire during the time of the suspension.
Texas Government Code §411.171(a)(8) states a person is not eligible for a LTC, for a Class A or Class B conviction within five (5) years before the date of application. Once you meet the eligibility requirements, you will not be eligible to reapply for two (2) years following the end of the cause for revocation. See Texas Government Code §411.186.
Texas Government Code, §411.172 and §411.190 sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. This includes proof you are certified to instruct others in the use of handguns (firearm instructor) as listed below::
Certified by Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) as a firearm instructor.
Supporting documentation includes a copy of your TCOLE firearm instructor certificate. (Must be a firearm instructor, basic instructor is not sufficient.)
Certified under the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1702, as a firearm instructor.
Supporting documentation includes a copy of the Private Security instructor registration.
Certified by NRA as a firearm instructor.
Supporting documentation includes a copy of certificate of training and a copy of your unexpired NRA credentials. (Must be certified to instructor handgun/pistol).
Proof of graduation from a handgun instructor school that uses a nationally accepted course designed to train persons as handgun instructors. (Applicants under this section must regularly instruct others in the use of handguns.)
Instructor applicants must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit required supplemental forms and materials.
Applicants should submit an online application, pay the required fee, and schedule an appointment for fingerprinting. Applicants must also complete the DPS class held for instructor applicants which includes classroom training, a written examination and a proficiency demonstration (shooting).
Texas Government Code, §411.172 and §411.190 sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. This includes proof you are qualified as listed below:
At least three years of experience in providing online instruction, and
Experience working with governmental entities, and
Direct knowledge of handgun training
Online Course Provider applicants must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit required supplemental forms and materials.
Applicants will need to submit LTC 91, LTC 91B and LTC 91C forms, pay the required fee, submit supporting document(s), and schedule an appointment for fingerprinting. Applicants must complete the DPS class held for instructor applicants which includes classroom training and a written examination.
Yes. Once certified, LTC instructors and approved online course providers are provided a course outline that must be followed. The classroom instruction must be a minimum of four (4) and no more than six (6) hours. For LTC Instructors Only: The DPS required course of fire for proficiency (shooting) demonstration must be followed and is not included in the four to six hour time period.
A person is eligible for a school safety instructor certification if the person meets the following criteria:
Currently certified by the department as a qualified handgun instructor.
No suspension, revocation or other disciplinary actions.
Has taught at least four license to carry handgun courses within the last 12 months prior to their application.
Must complete the DPS class held for School Safety Certification instructor applicants which includes classroom training, firearm proficiency and written examinations.
Yes, once certified, School Safety instructors are provided a course outline that must be followed. The classroom instruction shall be 15-20 hours in length, must have a teacher to student ratio of 1:6, and may have no more than twelve students per course.
Yes. The current curriculum has been updated to reflect recent changes in statute and is available to all certified Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) instructors.
The current curriculum can be found on our website under the Instructor Resources page.
No. Texas Government Code §411.188 requires an “actual demonstration” of “the applicant’s ability to safely and proficiently use a handgun.” Only through the firing of a handgun with live ammunition can the applicant demonstrate the ability to safely and proficiently use a handgun. Proficiency requires a demonstration of the ability to handle the recoil and muzzle velocity associated with the firing of live ammunition. In addition, demonstration of the safety skills and protocols associated with a live fire range is a critical component of the safe handling of a handgun. Allowing the examination to be conducted with target marking cartridges does not provide a demonstration of these skills and would not therefore comply with the statutory requirements.
After verifying the license is unexpired, use the search below when a prospective purchaser seeks to use a License to Carry (LTC) as an alternative permit under 18 U.S.C. § 922(t) to purchase a firearm. The return will indicate whether the license may be used as an alternative permit. Results are based on the status of the license as dated in the return.
The information below will display if the license may not be used as an alternative permit: